To add insult to injury…

Well….as you know I am dragging around a boot. Well, Friday evening I was involved in yet another ordeal. This one is quite comical, so I am pleased to entertain you with my pain :).

On Friday, I left work and headed to my mom’s house to pick up my son. They (mom, brother, nephew & my son) were all outside digging around in the garden, getting ready to plan onions and cabbage. I stood around for a few minutes chatting and what not. My nephew, he is three, had a kid’s fishing pole he was playing with in the yard. It didn’t have a hook on it (thanks God!), but  a bobber and weight. He was showing me how far he could cast the line out into the yard. Amazingly, he is pretty good at this. I needed to get the grocery store, so I didn’t have much time to chit chat. I told Cheston that we needed to go. Before we could leave, he wanted to show me how far he could cast this line into the yard. So, I am standing about six or seven feet away from him. I am half talking to my mom, and half watching him as he cast this pole one last time before we leave. He brings the pole way back, and with all his might…he clicks the little botton and throws the pole forward with all that he has. Well are you visioning what happened next??? The line came around, and that weight and bobber hit me right in the forehead!! I grab my face with both hands, and bend over in overwelming pain! Instantly the situation reminded me of a video I would see on America’s Funniest Videos. My mom, who is standing near, is laughing so hard, I guess she forgot to ask me if I was ok…..:)

My son feels horrible. I think he must have told me he was sorry about a thousand times. I, myself, also thought it was quite funny, even though I felt like King Kong just kicked my with high heels on. I was laughing so hard I was crying, and I think my son must of have thought I was crying out of pain…which maybe it was both. This was a priceless moment in life. I told my son on the way home that there was nothing to be sorry for, and that is was an innocent accident, and one day when he gets older, we will bring this story up and we will all laugh about it.

So….now I have a bum foot, and a goose egg/big red spot on my forehead….I think I might invest in some bubble wrap…I was always an accident prone kid.

Leave a comment